The 2011 AIA|LA Breakfast Series, “Vision 2020: Leading Los Angeles into the Future”

Last Updated: March 10, 2011

The 2011 AIA|LA Breakfast Series, “Vision 2020:  Leading Los Angeles into the Future”

3780 Wilshire Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90010, USA


Contact: Will Wright
AIA|Los Angeles
Tel: 213.639.0764

"Vision 2020: Leading Los Angeles into the Future"

The 2011 AIA|LA Breakfast Series

What is your vision for Los Angeles? What would you like your day-to-day experiences to be like in the year 2020? Do you have ideas for how to make Los Angeles healthier, more delightful and more economically competitive? Do you have insight about how to improve the design of our streets? Our schools? Our mass transit system? Do you have a perspective you'd like to share with business leaders and policy makers?

AIA|LA invites you to participate in a series of candid discussions over coffee and pastries with a core set of city leaders that are actively shaping the future of Los Angeles.

"Vision 2020: Leading Los Angeles into the Future" serves as an opportunity for architects and designers to network with civic leaders to discuss ideas for how Los Angeles can best attain a healthy, sustainable and economically competitive future.

The monthly AIA|LA Breakfast Receptions serve as leadership forums to discuss issues relevant to improving the built and natural environment of the City in areas relating to economic development, energy and water conservation, open space, architecture, urban design and land-use policy. Past speakers have included: Deputy Mayor Austin Beutner, LADBS General Manager Bud Ovrom, Council President Eric Garcetti, Councilmembers Labonge, Parks, Reyes, Krekorian, Koretz, Perry, former LAUSD Supervisor David Brewer and County Supervisor Zev Yaroslavsky among many other notable city leaders.

For 2011, speakers will include:

Ronald O. Nichols - General Manager, LADWP - March 4
Marco Petruzzi - President and CEO, Green Dot Public Schools - March 25
Ted Tanner, AIA - Executive Vice President , AEG Real Estate - April 29
John Deasy - Superintendent, LAUSD - May 20
Hon. Kevin DeLeon - California State Senator, District #22 - August 26

Russell Goldsmith - Chairman of the Board and CEO, City National Bank - June 10
Hon. Karen Bass - U.S. Representative, District #33 - July 29
Hon. Eric Garcetti - Council President of City of Los Angeles - Sept. 23
Hon. Jerry Brown - Governor, State of California - October 28
Roelof van Ark - CEO, California High Speed Rail Authority - November 18
Martha Welborne, FAIA - Executive Director, Countywide Planning - METRO - tbd
Robert Hertzberg - Founder and Director, G24 Innovations - tba

Last updated: 13-Dec-2012 12:57 AM
Share Share