2010 Restaurant Design Awards Winners

AIA Los Angeles announced the Winners of the 2010 Restaurant Design Awards (RDA) Competition at Mobius LA in conjunction with Dwell on Design.

June 25, 2010 (Los Angeles, CA) - Winners of the 6th annual AIA Los Angeles Restaurant Design Awards (RDA) were announced as part of the Mobius LA 2010 program on the Dwell on Design (DOD) Expo Floor on Friday evening June 25th, 2010.

Hosted by Paul Danna, the 2010 President of AIA|LA's Board of Directors, the ceremony opened with welcoming remarks from Councilwoman Jan Perry. Paul Danna was joined onstage by Kerry Hyatt (from Astek - sponsor of the Bar/Lounge Category), Jai Massela (from Brizo - presenting sponsor of the 2010 Restaurant Design Awards) and restaurateur extraordinaire Barbara Lazaroff to present the People's Choice and Jury Awards.

The 2010 Restaurant Design Award Winners are:


  • jury award: South Beverly Grill (Beverly Hills, CA) - designed by Assembledge+ & Brad Dunning
  • people's choice award: Choice Restaurant (Brooklyn, NY) - designed by Evan Douglis Studio


  • jury award: Intelligentsia Venice (Venice, CA) - designed by MASS Architecture + Design
  • jury award: Mod Market (Boulder, CO) - design by Roth + Sheppard Architects
  • people's choice award: Mod Market (Boulder, CO) - design by Roth + Sheppard Architects


  • jury award: Press Club (San Francisco, CA) - designed by Baldauf Catton von Eckartsberg Architects
  • people's choice award: The Varnish (Los Angeles, CA) - designed by Kelly Architects & Ricki Kline

Special Thanks to notNeutral for supporting the RDA Program

About the RDA
The AIA|LA’s Restaurant Design Awards (RDA) honor excellence in restaurant design. The competition is open to all individuals and practices with both restaurant owners and architects/designers invited to submit. Either the project itself must be located in the United States or the submitting individual/firm must be US-based. Submissions are accepted in three main categories: restaurants, cafés/bars and lounges/nightclubs. The annual RDA Ceremony recognizes both Jury Award Winners as well as People’s Choice Award Winners, as selected by votes collected from the general public on the AIA|LA website.

2010 AIA|LA 6th annual Restaurant Design Awards Jury

  • Lara Deam – Owner and Founder, Dwell
  • Ben Ford - Chef & Restaurateur, Ford’s Filling Station
  • Clive Piercy - Principal, Air Conditioned [design]
  • Joey Shimoda, AIA - Principal, Shimoda Design Group

For juror bios please follow this link.

2010 Restaurant Design Awards In the Press


Last updated: 24-Jan-2013 12:11 PM
Share Share