AIA|LA Announces 2012 Design Awards Jury

Last Updated: July 17, 2012

AIA|LA Announces 2012 Design Awards Jury

3780 Wilshire Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90010, USA

AIA|LA Announces 2012 Design Awards Jury

As one of the most prestigious awards a designer can win in the Los Angeles design community, AIA Los Angeles goes to great lengths to make the Design Awards as celebrated as possible. This year is no exception! With a distinguished jury panel and many surprise innovative exhibition ideas, this year's Design Awards will not disappoint.

From International architects, fellows, professors and curators the jury represents the best in the design field, with each judge bringing their expertise to the judging table. Six jurors, divided into two judging categories, "Design Awards" and "Next LA," will convene September 21, 2012 to choose the winners of the 2012 Design Awards and Next LA Awards. (Reminder: the submission deadline is Friday, August 10, 2012.)

Introducing the 2012 Design Awards Jury:

Design Awards Jury:

Stephen Cassell, AIA, Architecture Research Office (ARO), New York, NY
Principal and co-founder, with Adam Yarinsky, of Architecture Research Office (ARO), a New York-based firm practicing modern architecture and visionary urbanism. ARO has completed more than seventy-five projects nationwide for clients such as Goldman Sachs, Princeton University, Prada, and the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. Stephen Cassell holds an undergraduate degree in architecture from Princeton University and received his Master of Architecture from the Harvard Graduate School of Design. He is currently teaching at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He has also taught at Harvard, Princeton, Syracuse and the Rhode Island School of Design.

Trey Trahan, Trahan Architects, FAIA, Baton Rouge, LA
Trahan Architects, an award-winning firm led by Victor F. "Trey" Trahan, FAIA, has received international acclaim for work that is at once intensely personal, historically grounded, and aesthetically sublime. Trey Trahan was the only American architect to receive the prestigious Architectural Review Award for Emerging Architecture in 2005, and was invited to participate in the Architectural League's 25th Anniversary "Emerging Voices" lecture series. He is the recipient of three National AIA Honor Awards and the firm has received numerous state and regional design awards, nine of them for the St. Jean Vianney Catholic Church. Trahan Architects' work has been published in more than 14 countries.

Next LA Jury:

Kimberli Meyer, Executive Director, MAK center
Kimberli Meyer is the director of the MAK Center for Art and Architecture at the Schindler House in Los Angeles, a curator, and a lecturer and writer on art and architecture. In 2007 she cofounded the MAK Urban Future Initiative, an international fellowship program in Los Angeles with Peter Noever (CEO and artistic director of MAK Vienna). Meyer has been an architectural designer since 1990, most recently completing a residential project in Baja California, Mexico. Meyer has a Master of Fine Arts in fine arts from the California Institute for the Arts, and a Bachelor of Architecture from the University of Illinois, Chicago.

Nader Tehrani, NADAAA, Boston, MA
Working on interdisciplinary platforms, Nader Tehrani's research has been focused on the transformation of the building industry, innovative material applications, and development of new means and methods of construction as exemplified in his work with digital fabrication. As the founding Principal of office DA, Tehrani's work received many prestigious awards, among which included the Cooper-Hewitt National Design Award in Architecture, the American Academy of Arts and Letters Architecture Award and the THIRTEENPROGRESSIVE Architecture Awards. Tehrani is also a Professor and the head of the Department of Architecture at the MIT School of Architecture and Planning.

Michael Woo, Hon. AIA|LA - Dean, College of Environmental Design, Cal Poly Pomona
Dean of the College of Environmental Design at Cal Poly Pomona, Michael Woo has a unique background in public service, community involvement, and urban planning. He was the first trained urban planner and the first Asian American elected to serve on the Los Angeles City Council. Representing a diverse constituency of 235,000 people in Hollywood and surrounding neighborhoods, Dean Woo spearheaded the Hollywood Redevelopment Plan, which laid the groundwork for Hollywood's current revitalization; played a key role in choosing the route and station locations of the Metro Red Line subway; and made decisions on numerous development proposals and neighborhood controversies. A native of Los Angeles, Woo received his B.A. from the University of California, Santa Cruz, and earned his Master of City Planning degree from UC Berkeley. He was a Fellow of the Institute of Politics at Harvard University's Kennedy School of Government. Before becoming Dean of ENV, Woo taught the undergraduate introduction to urban planning and development at USC for seven years and led a seminar at UCLA on urbanization in China.

About the AIA|LA Design Awards
The annual AIA Los Angeles Design Awards & Exhibit honors excellence in work built by Los Angeles architects (Design Awards) as well as work by Los Angeles Architects as yet unbuilt (Next LA Awards). In both the Design and Next LA categories, jury awards are given in three classifications: Citation, Merit, and Honor. The Design Awards juries, which are comprised of notable architects from across the United States and abroad, are selected by Committee, and change annually.

Last updated: 10-Dec-2012 08:54 PM
Share Share