AIA|LA Announces Design Awards Jury and Important Dates

Last Updated: July 26, 2011

3780 Wilshire Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90010, USA

AIA|LA Announces Design Awards Jury and Important Dates

As one of the most prestigious awards a designer can win in the Los Angeles design community, AIA Los Angeles goes to great lengths to make the Design Awards as celebrated as possible. This year is no exception! With a distinguished jury panel and an outstanding exhibit location, this year's Design Awards will not disappoint.

From International architects, fellows, critics, professors and theorists the jury represents the best in the design field, with each judge bringing their expertise to the judging table. Six jurors, divided into two judging categories, "Design Awards" and "Next LA," will convene September 16, 2011 at the iconic Pacific Design Center for a 5:30pm reception, a Jury Roundtable from 7-8pm, hosted by the 2011 Design Awards presenting sponsor, Italian Living Umbria. The month long Design Awards exhibition will open following the Jury Roundtable. (Reminder: the submission deadline is Thursday, August 11, 2011.)

Introducing the 2011 Design Awards Jury:

Design Awards Jury:

James L. Cutler, FAIA
Since 1977, he has been principal of his own design firm, Cutler Anderson Architects, in Washington State. He has served as critic and design instructor at the University of Pennsylvania, Washington; UC Berkeley, Harvard's Graduate School of Design, University of Oregon, University of Oklahoma, and most recently as Artist-in-Residence at Dartmouth College.

Mary Griffin, FAIA
After getting an American Civilization degree at Brown University, Mary went on to receive her Masters in Architecture from MIT. She now works at Turnbull Griffin Haesloop Architects in San Francisco. She has served on many juries, including the AIA National Institute of Architecture. She has taught architecture design at UC Berkeley, becoming a Friedman Visiting Professor of Professional Practice in 2008.

Mack Scogin
Scogin received his Architecture BA from Georgia Institute of Architects and has been Principal of his own firm, Scogin Merrill Elam Architects, Inc., since 2000. He has taught at the Harvard University Graduate School of Design, Ohio State University, Georgia Institute of Technology and Rice University. Most recently he was named, International Fellow at the Royal Institute of British Architects.

Next LA Jury:

Alan Hess
A prominent California architecture critic who has written extensively on roadside strips, Hess documents the emerging suburban metropolises of the West as a practicing architect and historian. As an architecture critic, he has written a column fro the San Jose Mercury News since 1986. He is currently researching the architecture of Irvine, California one of the United State's largest master-planned communities of the 1960's and 1970's.

Lilian Pfaff, Ph.D.
With a Doctorate degree from the University of Zürich, has taught architecture and design throughout Europe and in the United States, most recently beginning at SCI-Arc in Los Angeles. She is a curator, editor and co-founder of the Foundation Architecktur Dialoge in Basel.

Robert Somol
An internationally recognized design theorist, Somol is the Director of the School of Architecture at the University of Illinois at Chicago. He has also taught at Princeton, the University of Michigan, Harvard, Columbia and Rice University. He is the editor of Any and Log, as well as the co-designer of "off-use," an award-winning studio and residence in Los Angeles that extends his interest in combining the speculative discipline of modernism with the material excesses of mass culture.

About the AIA|LA Design Awards
The annual AIA Los Angeles Design Awards & Exhibit honors excellence in work built by Los Angeles architects (Design Awards) as well as work by Los Angeles Architects as yet unbuilt (Next LA Awards). In both the Design and Next LA categories, jury awards are given in three classifications: Citation, Merit, and Honor. The Design Awards juries, which are comprised of notable architects from across the United States and abroad, are selected by Committee, and change annually.

Last updated: 12-Dec-2012 01:45 AM
Share Share