AIA|LA Design Awards Ceremony and Presidential Honorees

Last Updated: August 2, 2011

Pacific Design Center, Los Angeles, CA 90069, USA

AIA|LA Design Awards Ceremony and Presidential Honorees

As Los Angeles' most celebrated architectural awards of the season, the AIA Los Angeles Design Awards, will take place this October 26, 2011 at Pacific Design Center.

Presented by Italian Living Umbria, the 2011 Design Awards had an enormous response from the architecture and design community with over 300 entries. The juries for the Design Awards (built projects) and the NextLA (unbuilt projects) will have their work cut out for them!

The ceremony will be held at the Silver Screen Theatre at the iconic Pacific Design Center. At the ceremony, the AIA|LA Board of Directors will celebrate, among other honorees, the completion of the Red Building, the third component at the PDC. The team that completed the Red Building will be honored with the "Building Team of the Year Award" as part of the Presidential Awards.

The Presidential Awards recognize select individuals that take leadership roles in their profession. This year's Presidential Awards have been newly improved by AIA|LA's president and the Board's Design Portfolio, helping make the process of choosing recipients more transparent and organized.

Headed by AIA|LA 2011 President, Hsinming Fung, AIA, professionals in the design and architecture communities were contacted in order to collect nominations that the Board voted on, approving all winners. (For further information regarding the new AIA|LA Presidential Awards Policy)

"With the Board of Directors newly adopted Presidential Awards policy, the entire Board is engaged in the annual Presidential Awards selection process." Said AIA|LA's Executive Director, Nicci Solomons, Hon. AIACC, "The consultation of several distinguished professionals and related organizations allowed for greater participation and further promoted the Chapter's goal of design excellence."

The 2011 Design Awards Presidential Honorees are:

25-Year Award: Loyola Law School Campus, by Frank O. Gehry, FAIA
Building Team of the Year: Pacific Design Center Red Building
Emerging Practice: Lee + Mundwiler Architects
Design Advocate: Merry Norris, Hon. AIA|LA
Community Contribution: John Chase, Assoc. AIA (posthumously)
Honorary AIA|LA: Will Wright, Hon. AIA|LA
Gold Medal: Neil M. Denari, AIA

With fall quickly approaching, mark your calendars for the following AIA|LA Design Awards dates:

  • August 11: Digital Submission deadline
  • September 12: Board submission
  • September 16: Jury Roundtable & Exhibition Opening
  • October 26: Design Awards Ceremony

About the AIA|LA Design Awards The annual AIA Los Angeles Design Awards & Exhibit honors excellence in work built by Los Angeles architects (Design Awards) as well as work by Los Angeles Architects as yet unbuilt (Next LA Awards). In both the Design and Next LA categories, jury awards are given in three classifications: Citation, Merit, and Honor. The Design Awards juries, which are comprised of notable architects from across the United States and abroad, are selected by Committee, and change annually.

Last updated: 12-Dec-2012 01:40 AM
Share Share