Call for Nomination(s)
The AIA|LA Emerging Practice Award
(An AIA|LA Presidential Honoree)

Deadline: Tuesday - May 15, 2018 at 5PM
Submit to: Executive Director Carlo Caccavale, Hon. AIA|LA

The purpose of the Emerging Practice Award is to recognize notable, innovative achievements in design, community service, education, and service to the profession and the AIA by an architectural firm within Los Angeles that has been in existence for a minimum of 2 years and a maximum of 7 years.

The AIA|LA Emerging Practice Award is the highest honor that the American Institute of Architects Los Angeles can bestow on an architecture firm for consistently producing innovative architecture.

Any firm, whether an individual or an organization of architects, in which the continuing collaboration among individuals of the firm has been the principal force in consistently producing innovative architecture for a for a minimum of 2 years and a maximum of 7 years, is eligible for the Emerging Practice Award. No more than one such award shall be made in any year.

  • The firm shall have evidenced innovation, having a cumulative effect on the profession of architecture.
  • The firm’s work shall be a product of a collaborative environment or a demonstration of a new way of practice.
  • The firm shall have evidenced the ability to transcend specific areas of expertise or shall have made connections between areas.
  • The firm shall be recognized by peers.
  • Principal (or one, if many) will have to be an AIA or Associate AIA member.
Nomination Process
AIA|LA staff will publish a Call for Nominations – potential candidate can submit a nomination providing the following information:

  • images and description of no more than 5 projects;
  • a statement of the firm’s philosophy;
  • a statement of the firm’s profile;
  • a list of awards and recognitions
  • one letter of recommendation from an LA-area architect not within the firm
AIA|LA Staff will collate all submissions for a presentation to the Board of Directors

The AIA|LA Board of Directors reviews the self-nominees and votes on the selection of one winner. Non-winners are allowed to re-enter the following year if so desired if they continue to meet the above criteria.

Previous Recipients
2017 – Design, Bitches
2016 – SDA | Synthesis Design + Architecture – Alvin Huang, AIA
2015 - Omgivning Architects – Karin Liljegren, AIA
2014 - PAR – Jennifer Marmon, AIA
2013 - Johnston Marklee
2012 - Oyler Wu Collaborative
2011 - Lee + Mundwiler Architects
2010 - Lorcan O'Herlihy Architects
2009 - Daly Genik Architects
Last updated: 30-Apr-2018 04:22 PM
Share Share